Charm

Presented by Mosaic Theater Company of DC

Opens 2017-01-05
Closes 2017-01-29

Atlas Performing Arts Center - The Lang Theatre

1333 H Street NE Washington, DC 20002
$20 - $60

Thurs, Jan 5 at 8pm
Fri, Jan 6 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 7 at 3pm
Sun, Jan 8 at 3pm
Thurs, Jan 12 at 11am
Fri, Jan 13 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 14 at 3pm and 8pm
Sun, Jan 15 at 3pm and 7:30pm
Wed, Jan 18 at 8pm
Thurs, Jan 19 at 8pm
Fri, Jan 20 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 21 at 3pm and 8pm
Sun, Jan 22 at 3pm and 7:30pm
Wed, Jan 25 at 8pm
Thurs, Jan 26 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 28 at 3pm and 8pm
Sun, Jan 29 at 3pm

Box Office:  202-399-7993 ext 2
thumb image

Meet Mama Darleena Andrews, a 67 year-old transgender woman and the inimitable etiquette instructor at “The Center,” an organization for Chicago’s homeless and LGTBQ youth. Her students are as diverse in background as they are in identity, united by a feeling of other-ness in the heart of a city that’s left them behind. But for “Mama Darlin,” triumph over poverty and prejudice begins with lacing up and fitting in—playing the part with class and with charm.

Based on the heartwarming true story of Chicago trans icon Miss Gloria Allen of the Center on Halsted, and staged by trailblazing director Natsu Onoda Power (The T Party), this touching, enchanting story of hardship, wit, and an indomitable Mama’s love is a “portrait of pain, kindness, and an LGBTQ community in transition” (Time Out Chicago).

Reprint Policy Our articles may not be reprinted in full but only as excerpts and those portions may only be used if a credit and link is provided to our website.
DC Theatre Scene is supported in part by the DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities and by the Humanities Council of Washington, DC.