The Hard Problem

Presented by Studio Theatre

Opens January 11, 2017
Closes February 19, 2017

Studio Theatre - Metheny Theatre

1501 14th Street NW  Washington, DC 20005
1 hour, 45 minutes, no intermission
$20 - $85

Wed, Jan 11 at 8pm
Thurs, Jan 12 at 8pm
Fri, Jan 13 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 14 at 8pm
Sun, Jan 15 at 2pm and 7pm
Tues, Jan 17 at 8pm
Wed, Jan 18 at 8pm
Thurs, Jan 19 at 8pm
Fri, Jan 20 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 23 at 8pm
Sun, Jan 22 at 2pm and 7pm
Tues, Jan 24 at 8pm
Wed, Jan 25 at 8pm
Thurs, Jan 26 at 8pm
Fri, Jan 27 at 8pm
Sat, Jan 28 at 2pm and 8pm
Sun, Jan 29 at 2pm and 7pm
Tues, Jan 31 at 8pm
Wed, Feb 1 at 8pm
Thurs, Feb 2 at 8pm
Fri, Feb 3 at 8pm
Sat, Feb 4 at 2pm and 8pm
Sun, Feb 5 at 2pm and 7pm
Tues, Feb 7 at 8pm
Wed, Feb 8 at 8pm
Thurs, Feb 9 at 8pm
Fri, Feb 10 at 8pm
Sat, Feb 11 at 2pm and 8pm
Sun, Feb 12 at 2pm and 7pm
Tues, Feb 14 at 8pm
Wed, Feb 15 at 8pm
Thurs, Feb 16 at 8pm
Fri, Feb 17 at 8pm
Sat, Feb 18 at 2pm and 8pm
Sun, Feb 19 at 2pm and 7pm

Box Office:  202.332.3300
thumb image

The Hard Problem
by Tom Stoppard
Directed by Matt Torney

 

London critics have raved about The Hard Problem, the latest from Tom Stoppard, writer of Arcadia and Shakespeare in Love.

Hailed by the The Daily Mail as “100 minutes of brilliant brainache,” Stoppard’s searing drama centers on Hilary, a young psychology researcher at a brain science institute who is haunted by a single theory: If there is nothing but matter, what is consciousness? As Hilary attempts to break down the components of this “hard problem,” she finds herself up against her lover (and academic mentor) in a fight to defend the soul, altruism and even religion from modern science. Watch psychology and biology collide in this provocative drama.

Reprint Policy Our articles may not be reprinted in full but only as excerpts and those portions may only be used if a credit and link is provided to our website.
DC Theatre Scene is supported in part by the DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities and by the Humanities Council of Washington, DC.